Biggest Little City Eats

~By Jessica Parkhurst

Empirically Delicious!

Imperial is located in Downtown Reno at 150 N. Arlington Ave.  This restaurant and bar is open from 11am-12am (or earlier depending on traffic) Sun-Thurs.  On Fri-Sat they are open 11am-close which is at least until 2am.  First of all, let me just say, 25 CENT wings EVERY WEDNESDAY NIGHT!!!!  Imperial is made out brick which gives it an oldschool downtown Reno feel. It a warehousey open feel to it and a huge bar with booths on the outer edges and a great lounge area upfront which is fantastic in the summertime because they open up the windows which span the entire front of the restaurant.

I try to go to Imperial every Wednesday night because it’s I can get good food that fills my belly without emptying my wallet, and the best part is that it is good!  I always order at least 15 wings because they are kind of small but for 25 cents, who cares?  I supplement that with an order of fries for $5.  The fries at Imperial are the best I have ever had, now I know this is a pretty bold claim but I kid you not, their fries are like crack (or at least what I figure crack must be like).

They also have a regular menu that is awesome… there is nothing I’ve eaten from here that I haven’t thoroughly enjoyed.  Last Thursday I visited Imperial with one of my pals to eat.  I ordered their Pear, bacon, and Gorgonzola salad that is composed of the previous three ingredients along with romaine lettuce and a honey mustard vinaigrette for $10.  The price of $10 for a salad might seem a little steep but it is a gynormous salad… I’ve always thought they should serve a half size for $5.  We also ordered a medium pizza.  For $17 you can make your own with up to 4 toppings or choose one of their specialties; it’s $1.25 for each extra topping.  We opted to get pepperoni, spinach, pineapple, and tomatoes with red sauce.

The salad was delicious as always.  The combination of the salty bacon and tart Gorgonzola goes perfect with the sweet dressing and pears.  Their pizza is the best thin crust that I have had so far.  The crust is almost cracker thin and it has a beautiful crispiness to it that I have tried to duplicate time and time again but have never been able to get it quite right.  The service at Imperial is best at the bar for sure, all the bartenders there are great and even gave us a free round because our pizza got burnt and they had to remake it!  Sitting at the booths, especially on wingnight, will get you lesser service… there are times I think the waitress completely forgot about me and I had to go to the bar to order anyway.

My final recommendation? You need to go here!! The food is unquestionably good and you can’t beat the wingnight deal!  So go and try it!  Now I want to know where your favorite bar/food hangout is…. where do you go to have a drink and eat??

Single Post Navigation

Leave a comment